PhD studies

A Doctorate of Philology (D. Phil) is an academic degree that qualifies the holder to teach at the university level in the specific philological field. Research doctorates are awarded in recognition of academic research that is publishable in a peer-refereed academic journal. Earning a research doctorate also requires successful completion of a regimen of coursework beyond the masters level.

Doctoral studies are very popular at Vilnius University. Each year competition for admission to doctoral studies is organized. Doctoral studies at the university are orientated towards the quality of study, flexible study process scheduling and establishing the suitable academic environment. Doctoral students enhance their knowledge in various workshops, by participating in international events, academic projects and performing educational work.



An electronic and a printed and signed version of the research proposal must be submitted. The research proposal should be 8,000–10,000 characters long, including spaces and excluding the bibliography. The Application Committee will not consider proposals that exceed these limitations. Proposals not in Lithuanian will only be accepted on an exceptional basis. The Applications Committee decides whether to accept such proposals. Requirements for the printed proposal are the following: 1.5 spacing, font size 12, top and bottom margins 2 cm, left margin 2.5 cm, right margin 1 cm.

Applicants must submit research proposals to doctoral studies committees on 10–21 June. If not all required information or documents have been provided, the application will not be accepted. The Faculty of Philology will accept research proposals submitted prior to 21 June 2019, 3.00 p.m. GMT+3. Successful applicants will be selected based on the research proposal and an interview. The dates of research proposal and interview evaluation are the following: 27 June, 10 a.m., J. Balkevičiaus Roomfor general and comparative literary studies andRoomV2for linguistics.

Electronic proposals must be sent to  (.doc or .docx formats are accepted). Printed and signed proposals must be sent to the Dean’s Office of the Faculty of Philology or submitted at the ground floor of the Office. Scanned versions of proposals are also accepted.


Doctoral Committee of the Faculty of Philology

  • Prof dr Meilutė Ramonienė (chairwoman)
  • Prof dr Daiva Aliūkaitė
  • Prof dr Vytautas Bikulčius
  • Prof (habil) dr Axel Holvoet
  • Prof dr Vytautas Kardelis
  • Prof dr Jadvyga Krūminienė
  • Prof dr (HP) Dainora Pociūtė-Abukevičienė
  • Prof dr (HP) Regina Rudaitytė
  • Prof dr Irena Smetonienė
  • Prof (habil) dr Bonifacas Stundžia
  • Prof (habil) dr Aurelija Usonienė
  • Assoc prof dr Mintautas Čiurinskas
  • Dr Solveiga Daugirdaitė
Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies. More information